Skip to content

Holy hailballs (and another baby update)

October 25, 2010

Hailballs the size of large peas are pinging against my windows tonight, along with purple flashes of lightening over Tillamook Bay and thunder so loud it rattles the walls.

I’m grateful for a roaring fire in the wood stove tonight, hot chamomile tea, chocolate and Netflix. The storm came on this afternoon, right as I pulled into my driveway at the bay house, after a weekend in Eugene with my mom, who is one very excited Grandma-to-be.

We spent the weekend looking at all the stores for baby things, but only bought one cloth diaper and one little jammie-thing, both second hand. I was kind of stunned by all of the baby things you can buy.

And here’s the pregnancy update:

How far along? 18 weeks and 4 days.

How big is baby? 5 1/2 inches?

Total weight gain: This may be the last week I answer that publicly. Four pounds. All in about two weeks.

Maternity Clothes? Yep. Feeling FRUMPY. Got some lovely hand-me-downs though, and some stretchy-band jeans and leggings. I think I’ve just about unzipped my regular pants to their very limits now.

Stretch marks? Nope, oh and thanks for the Mama Bee stuff, Stef!

Sleep: Still good. Although it may be hard to sleep tonight if it keeps storming like this. It’s a monster.

Movement: Oh yes! All the time, especially in the morning and when I’m laying still at night. Actually, I can feel the baby moving right now. It makes me so incredibly happy, I can’t even explain.

Food cravings: I’m just HUNGRY. I ate some bacon the other day. Yes I did. Trying to keep it healthy though, for the most part.

What I miss: Not much. I’m pretty blissed out as this baby becomes more and more real. I do miss my normal clothes though. And a glass of red wine on a stormy night like this would be lovely…

What I am looking forward to: Holding my sweet baby.

Milestones: Just spending time with Grandma-to-be was wonderful. I’m glad Baby got to hear her voice. This baby is going to be surrounded by love. Oh and eating bacon was sort of a milestone.

Here’s me, at 18 weeks, 4 days.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Cori Potter permalink
    October 25, 2010 4:26 am

    🙂 Couldn’t be happier for you guys!

  2. Grandma-to-be permalink
    October 27, 2010 1:58 am

    Baby I can’t wait to diaper you! Before you know it, I will hold you!

    Love,

    Grandma

  3. October 31, 2010 11:42 pm

    You are a vision of love my friend!!! I too am excited to see your new little one when (s)he arrives. I see there are 100% votes that its a girl, including my own vote. 🙂

Leave a comment