Skip to content

Wind and wood

March 26, 2010

We just had a cord of wood delivered and I’m glad for it because the wind is whipping hard tonight and rain whirling around in all directions, splattering our big, bay-facing windows like going through one of those drive-thru car washes.

Whew, sorry for the run-on sentence—I get like that when I’m excited.

I just came in from covering the huge pile of wood with tarps and trying my hardest to make sure they don’t blow off, because it’ll be a few days until we can move the wood pile to its safe, dry home in the garage.

So, here I am, wet, muddy and blogging, sipping tea with a warm fire crackling away in the wood stove. Ebon’s in Portland tonight, Kid too, so it’s just me here watching the wind, as dusk settles on a stormy night.

The house is making all kinds of creaking noises whenever the wind gusts, and something’s thumping over and over against the side of the house somewhere, and out on the bay, huge white caps and waves rolling over themselves. Steel grey water, dark shadows of mountains out towards the Cape, the lights of the seafood company down across the highway a red and orange glowing blur through the rain-soaked glass panes.

I had a good day today, immersed in the world of small town newspaper journalism. I didn’t have a dull moment, met dozens of people in the community, and I even got to got photograph a ribbon-cutting ceremony, complete with one of those giant pairs of scissors they use to make a silly picture.

I love my reporting job, so far anyway, and I no longer find myself staring at the clock, wishing time away. Life is too short to wish it away 40 hours a week, you know?

Oh lordy it’s storming hard right now, and steel grey dusk has turned to black, shining night.

Anyway, I’m going to finish my tea now, then go out into the storm to investigate what’s causing the thumping noise.

One Comment leave one →
  1. kathy thompson permalink
    March 29, 2010 12:32 am

    Erin,
    It was my first time reading ANY blog on the computer, although I’ve read them in magazines. Congratulations on all the newness in your life. May the simple life bring you much happiness and peace…we should all be trying it! Lots of love, Aunt Kathy

Leave a comment